The Surfrider Foundation Massachusetts Chapter was founded in 1996.  We are an all-volunteer chapter composed of ocean, wave and beach loving environmentalists who are dedicated to the protection and enjoyment of the Massachusetts coast and waters.

Executive Committee


Chair: Noona Joseph – chair@ma.surfrider.org


Vice Chair: Noel LaPierre – vicechair@ma.surfrider.org


Secretary: Kim Starbuck – secretary@ma.surfrider.org


Treasurer: Mary Tuck Welch – treasurer@ma.surfrider.org


Volunteer Coordinator: Ed Eads – volunteercoordinator@ma.surfrider.org


Chapter Coordinators

Rise Above Plastics: VACANT (email us if you’re interested in learning more about this role!) – programs@ma.surfrider.org (please note:  while the RAP volunteer position is vacant, this email will not be monitored!  Please email the chapter with any plastics questions.  Thank you!)


Social Media/Web & Graphic Design: Johna Klebenov – webguru@ma.surfrider.org


Public Relations & Communications:  Katie Willis Morton – prcommunications@ma.surfrider.org


Contact Us

Massachusetts Surfrider Foundation
e-mail: Massachusetts@surfrider.org

Visit the Northeast Regional site at: www.northeast.surfrider.org

Visit the national site at: www.surfrider.org


Clean Water Paddle

Over fifty surfers turned out on a cold Sunday to show their commitment for clean water. Among those present for the event was Tom Skinner, Director of Massachusetts Coastal Zone Management. Local surfers were stoked to paddle out for the knee high waves after the press conference.

cleanwater4


Storm Drain Stenciling

The Storm Drain Stenciling Program is an activity sponsored by the Boston Water and Sewer Commission (BWSC) in conjunction with students and community residents to identify the negative impacts on our waterways and harbor when pollutants are illegally and/or carelessly discarded on Boston streets. (Source: Boston Water and Sewer Commission)

Peter Karlson (below) hanging with kids stenciling local area storm drains.



stenciling